Swiss Government Excellence Scholarships for Foreign Scholars 2022-2023 Academic Year


Each year the Swiss Confederation awards Government Excellence Scholarships to promote international exchange and research cooperation between Switzerland and over 180 other countries. Recipients are selected by the awarding body, the Federal Commission for Scholarships for Foreign Students (FCS)

Types of scholarship

  • The research scholarship is available to post-graduate researchers in any discipline (who hold a master’s degree as a minimum) who are planning to come to Switzerland to pursue research or further studies at the doctoral or post-doctoral level.
    Research scholarships are awarded for research or study at all Swiss cantonal universities, universities of applied sciences, and the two federal institutes of technology, as well as the four research institutes. Only candidates nominated by an academic mentor at one of these higher education institutions will be considered.
  • Art scholarships are open to art students wishing to pursue an initial master’s degree in Switzerland.
    Art scholarships are awarded for study at any Swiss conservatory or university of the arts. This scholarship is available to students from a limited number of countries only.

ALSO READ International Bachelors Masters and Ph.D. Program in Germany 2022/2023

Application procedure


Worth of Swiss Government Excellence Scholarships

  • The scholarship covers a monthly payment
  • Exemption of tuition fees,
  • Health insurance
  • Air fare
  • Housing allowance
  • Eligibility for Swiss Government Excellence Scholarships
  • Please refer to the country-specific fact sheets for general and specific eligibility criteria.
  • How to apply for Swiss Government Excellence Scholarships
  • Please see the country-specific fact sheets for eligibility criteria the application procedure, deadlines, and contact information specific to your country.
  • If you fulfill the eligibility requirements, contact the Swiss diplomatic representative in your country of origin.

Please Note

The Swiss Federal Institute of Aquatic Science and Technology (Eawag, German acronym for Eidgenössische Anstalt für Wasserversorgung, Abwasserreinigung und Gewässerschutz) is a Swiss water research institute and an internationally networked institution. As part of the Swiss Federal Institutes of Technology Domain, it is an institution of the Federal Department of Home Affairs of the Swiss Confederation.

The Eawag is based in Dübendorf near Zurich and Kastanienbaum near Lucerne. After its foundation in 1936 it concentrated on wastewater treatment and drinking water supplies. From these beginnings it has expanded into a multidisciplinary research institute with a focus on three primary research areas: water as a foundation of health and well-being, water as an essential factor in the functioning of our ecological systems, and strategies for the mitigation of water use conflicts. Nowadays, with a staff of over 500 employees, Eawag is actively engaged in research, teaching and consulting in all areas pertaining to water.

Eawag’s overall aim is to ensure the sustainable use of water resources and infrastructure and to harmonize the ecological, economic and social interests associated with bodies of water. In doing so, the Eawag plays an important role in bridging research and practice.

Swiss Government Excellence Scholarships for Foreign Scholars 2022-2023 Academic Year

Official Website: Click Here


By Trinh

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.